How to get to the system config files @ school.

September 24, 2008

I was pretty bored today in school. My computer teacher locked the Internet (somebody want to give me a hack for netop? It seems like a simple program, but renaming the programs that are blocked and moving the files doesn’t work, It must look at the GUID of the programs :P) and I needed something, anything to read. Hmm, how about paint? No, boring. Instruction manual? No, too much amateurism. Then in the heart of my bordom, I ended up at System Information (Start > All Programs > Assesories > System Tools > System Information), which contains a wealth of stuff to read. IP addresses, hardware address, specs, etc. Belive me, there are nothing interesting about those computers, every spec about them sucks. A two year old PC with 75GiB HDD? lol. Then I got into Software Environment > Signed drivers and the fun began. As I was sitting there, head to the side, drool coming out, I came across a column. INF. The column of columns, it gave me the INF filename for all the lowest level system configuration files. Voila, I just learned this today, I honestly didn’t know the C:\Windows\INF folder had all the system configuration files in it. Probably becuase it’s well hidden and I don’t wander but to known pathes in the windows folder.

So heres how it’s done:

1. Get to Signed Drivers section as explained above.

2. Look for a row with something interesting, like a processor or GPU. Or as needed for hacking, etc.

3. Look at the INF column. There is a filename there for somethings. If there isn’t, move on to another. 

4. Rememer that filename, Open up Explorer and go to My Computer > C:\ > Windows. Once you are there just click the search button. 

5. Type in the name of that file you were supposed to remember. Click search.

6. The file should come up. Double click it and notepad opens. Be careful at this point, if you don’t know what you’re doing, back off now. These files have configuartion options beyond some IT peoples knowlege. 

7. Continue until you find the information you need. 

8. Test saves: Find a comment and place a random charcater in it. It won’t hurt if it’s a comment.

9. If the save works (almost 95% sure most schools lock writing to C:\Windows) you can fix/destroy the computer at will! If it doesn’t save, you probably can exploit something with that information.

Well hope you succeed in showing your public schools IT people whos boss. The people with wikipedia, that’s who.

Leave a Reply

